ACT-SO Expanding The Minds Of Our Youth

ACT-SO is an acronym for the Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics. It is an academic mentoring and enrichment program that provides career exploration and a competition in 27 categories encompassed by the Sciences, Humanities, Business, Performing Arts, and Visual Arts. ACT-SO is the principle youth initiative of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). The mission of ACT-SO is to promote academic and cultural excellence among high school students of African descent and showcase their intellect and skills. The DuPage County ACT-SO Chapter includes students in DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Will, and parts of Cook County. The chapter is hosted by DuPage County Branch NAACP and is co-sponsored by College of DuPage and the DuPage Regional Office of Education. Read More...
So…Are you or a high school student interested in science, like to experiment or discover new things? Are you gifted and talented? Do you like to sing, dance, act, or write poetry? Do you paint or draw? Do you have a business mind? If you do, then ACT-SO! Be sure to review the competition category guidelines and rules under the COMPETITION tab. Register as a student, mentor, judge, or volunteer under the REGISTER tab.

Wins at Gold at 2014 Nationals

Two students who won gold medals during the 36th annual ACT-SO National Competition held in Las Vegas. The DuPage County ACT-SO program is one of the top in the nation. Since 2000, the program has produced national medal winners for 13 consecutive years. The 2014 National medalists from the DuPage County ACT-SO program include:
Anwuli Onwuta – St. Charles East, 12 – Architecture – GOLD
Bryce Smith – Metea Valley, 12 – Mathematics – GOLD

DuPage ACT-SO Wins Gold
The judges have spoken and we have new ACT-SO local winners. The 2014 Local Competition was formidable and 16 of our outstanding students won a record 18 Gold medals, 13 won Silver, and 10 won Bronze.

Olivia James, Alexis Johnson, Anwuli Onwuta, Kelechi Agwuncha, Malcolm Smith, Tavis Reed, Asare Nkansah, Makayla Hughes, Robyn Henderson, Rashad Crosby, Bryce Smith, Samuel Washington,  Ebony Graves, Darryl Crady, N'Crai Pittman, and Jordan Henderson (not pictured).